Hart Health Strategies provides a comprehensive policy briefing on a weekly basis. This in-depth health policy briefing is sent out at the beginning of each week. The health policy briefing recaps the previous week and previews the week ahead. It alerts clients to upcoming congressional hearings, newly introduced bills, regulatory announcements, and implementation activity related to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) and other health laws.


New Health Policy Chairs in 114th Congress

Although the new Republican Senate will not make committee assignments until the resolution of the Louisiana runoff election on December 6th, the leaders of the House committees have been named. They will make important decisions next year regarding: the fate of a permanent fix for the Medicare physician payment system (if not addressed in the lame duck); the extent to which significant portions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) will be repealed, replaced or defunded; the reform of Medicare and Medicaid; the extension of the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP); and numerous other health policy changes, including provisions to be included in a major omnibus budget reconciliation bill. Please see the Appendix for a full listing of Senate and House leadership positions in the 114th Congress, as well as House Committee leadership. The selections announced by House Speaker Boehner (R-OH) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) are as follows:

Agriculture Committee: Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) replaces Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK) as chairman and Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN) remains the Ranking Democrat.

Appropriations Committee: Rep. Harold Rogers (R-KY) remains as chair of the House Appropriations Committee and Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY) stays on as the Ranking Democrat. Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK) will chair the Labor/HHS/Education subcommittee; Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL) will chair the Agriculture/FDA subcommittee; and Rep. Charles Dent (R-PA) will chair the Subcommittee on Military Construction/Veterans Affairs.

Armed Services Committee: Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX) replaces Rep. “Buck” McKeon (R-CA), who will retire at the end of this session, as chair of the House Armed Services Committee. Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA) remains as Ranking Minority member.

Budget Committee: Rep. Tom Price (R-GA) replaces Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) who will become chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee. Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) stays on as the Ranking Democrat. Committee on Oversight and Government Reform: Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) replaces Rep. Darrel Issa (R-CA) as chairman. Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD) remains as Ranking Democrat on the Committee.

Education and the Workforce Committee: Rep. John Kline (R-MN) remains chairman and Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA) replaces the retiring Rep. George Miller (D-CA) as the Ranking Democrat.

Energy and Commerce Committee: Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI) remains chairman and the new Ranking Democrat is Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ). Rep. Joe Pitts (R-PA) is slated to remain the chairman of the Health Subcommittee.

Foreign Affairs Committee: Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA) and Rep. Elliot Engel (D-NY) will remain as Chairman and Ranking Member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Homeland Security Committee: Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX) and Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS) stay on as Chairman and Ranking Democrat, respectively.

Veterans Affairs Committee: Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL) remains as chairman and Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL) replaces Rep. Mike Michaud as the Ranking Democrat.

Ways and Means Committee: Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) replaces the retiring Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI) and Rep. Sander Levin (D-MI) remains the Ranking Democrat.

December 31, 1969: | Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8 Page 9 Page 10



 -  2019

 +  2018